National Competent Authorities

The Supervisory framework of European Union on financial, banking and insurance markets is mainly composed by the three European Supervisory Authorities (ESAs) and the National Competent Authorities (NCAs) of each Member State.

The three ESAs coordinate their supervisory activities in the scope of their respective responsibilities. The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) is an independent European Union (EU) Authority that contributes to safeguarding the stability of the EU’s financial system by enhancing the protection of investors and promoting stable and orderly financial markets. The European Banking Authority (EBA) is an independent EU Authority which works to ensure effective and consistent prudential regulation and supervision across the European banking sector. Its overall objectives are to maintain financial stability in the EU and to safeguard the integrity, efficiency and orderly functioning of the banking sector. The European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) is an independent EU Authority which promotes a sound regulatory framework and consistent supervisory practices in order to protect the rights of policyholders, pension scheme members and beneficiaries and contributes to the public confidence in the European Union’s insurance and occupational pensions sectors.

At national level, there are differences between the Member States: some have single supervisory authority, others have different authorities for each field.

For details for each Member State:

© 2015 Sofarider Inc. All rights reserved. WordPress theme by Dameer DJ.